On March 25, 1917, seven young women who exemplified self-confidence and the willingness to take a chance founded a new sorority at Cornell University. The name chosen, Sigma Delta Phi, was soon changed to Sigma Delta Tau when the women discovered the letters belonged to another Greek organization.

These young women established a sorority which would respect the individuality of its members. The personal growth and social development of each individual was the basis upon which the new organization was built upon.

Dora Bloom was "the leader." She lead her sorority as the first chapter president through the first exciting year of Sigma Delta Tau. 

Amy Apfel was the "personality-plus coed." Upon her death in 1982, the Tishman family created a scholarship in Amy's name to be awarded to deserving members of the Alpha Chapter of Sigma Delta Tau.

Marian Gerber was considered "the brain" and was consistently focused on her studies. She graduated Phi Beta Kappa with honors in History.

Grace Srenco was the "campus queen." As a freshman, Grace was assigned to a dormitory with a sophomore roommate: Dora Bloom. "This chance meeting led to many happy events in my life including the founding of Sigma Delta Tau and my marriage to a Philadelphia lawyer," Grace later said.

Inez Ross was considered "the sophisticate" and helped Dora Bloom create the idea of Sigma Delta Tau. Inez became a prominent social worker in New York City. During the Depression era of the 1930s, her outstanding efforts to help those affected by the depression were brought to the attention of Eleanor Roosevelt, who honored her at the White House. It was Inez who designed our National crest and selected the colors of Cafe Au Lait and Old Blue.

Regene Freund called herself "the activity girl." She balanced several organizations and her pre-law studies as well as her involvement in the sorority. After graduation, she served as Sigma Delta Tau's National Counselor for  35 years.

Lenore Rubinow was known as "the idealist." She studied dance during college and dreamed of a career on the stage. Lenore studied sociology in graduate school at Columbia University. She became a successful social worker in Newark, New Jersey.

Our Founding Sisters

Sigma Delta Tau Eta chapter was founded at the University of Georgia on April 6, 1924 as the fourth sorority established on campus.​ 

In 1945, the sorority moved into 846 S. Milledge Avenue, presently occupied by Alpha Tau Omega. Sigma Delta Tau moved to its custom built house at its present location, 525 Bloomfield Street in 1961.

Eta Chapter History

National Founding Date:  March 25, 1917 at Cornell University

Local Founding Date:  April 6, 1924

Colors:  Cafe Au Lait and Old Blue

Symbol:  Torch

Flower:  Golden Tea Rose (or Yellow Tea Rose)

Jewel: Lapiz Lazuli

Mascot:  Teddy Bear

Publication:  The Torch

Motto:  Patriae Multae Spes Una

National Philanthropy:  Prevent Child Abuse America

Local Philanthropy:  Breast Cancer Awareness


Did you know?  Amelia Dornblatt, one of the charter members of the Eta chapter, was the first woman to study Journalism at UGA.

About Us